top of page

New Year, New Goals

As we rang in the new year of 2021, I didn’t think that any dramatic change would happen in the world the next day. But, that was ok. I can’t really change the world, but I can change me. Some people make new year’s resolutions. I make goals.

So far, I’m 2 weeks into training for the Pittsburgh half marathon. They scheduled the in-person event months ago, and I registered for it. I’m not optimistic that the in-person race will happen, but that won’t stop me from training and running another 13.1 on my own. We’re also doing the Mario Lemieux Foundation Winter Challenge to run, walk, or bike 66 miles in 66 days. That’s keeping us motivated to move.


The company I work for is growing like crazy! We’re moving our reporting systems to something called Power BI. Essentially, Power BI “lays on top of” multiple databases and pulls data into one concise database, without changing anything in the original databases. It’s been a bit tricky to learn so far, so I’m going to training and getting the certification for it. Last year was our best year ever for product sales. The damn virus had a lot to do that. People needed computers to work from home and we had them. I will continue leading our e-commerce marketing efforts to keep our sales going in 2021. I do hope we can match our revenue from 2020, or even sell more in 2021.


After a few nudges from some friends, good timing of Black Friday sales, and having to quarantine after coming back from Florida, I’ve decided to do yoga teacher training. I found a perfect-for-me online yoga teacher training program and I’m almost done with the 200-hour program. Once I pass the 2 tests and submit my yoga teaching video (and they approve it), I will be able to teach yoga. I don’t know what exactly that looks like right now. But it will most likely involve recorded online classes and live Zoom classes. Looking forward to sharing my practice with you! Stay tuned in 2021 for more information.


There are at least 2 books that I’ll read in 2021. Zen Mind, Beginners Mind and Buddha. They’ve been sitting on my coffee table for a while now and I think it’s time to get through them. I’ve started both of them at different points in time. I think I will finish them this year. I have spoken. (bonus points if you know what that is from)


Thanks for reading this segment of my “This Damn Virus” story. Catch up on past segments here and come back next Wednesday for the next one! Sign up to receive a weekly reminder email about this blog here.

 
13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page