top of page

Buddhist Society of Pittsburgh Gathering

Peaceful, serene, caring, giving. These are just a few words that describes the Healing Ceremony and Memorial for Community Well-Being that I attended this past weekend at the Zen Center of Pittsburgh. It was a gathering of less than 50 people (about 35 – 40) to help bring healing energy to everyone affected by the virus.


I arrived at the Zen Center around 12:45, checked in at the welcome tent, and chatted

The Jizo Statue

with Colleen, the wife of the priest, for a few minutes. She greeted me with a bow and air hug and was very excited to see me there. Most of the people in attendance were already in their socially distanced spot on the grass. I settled under a tree, but still in the sun. About 5 minutes later, I heard someone call my name and I looked up toward the check in tent. Kotoku, the priest at the Zen Center, was calling me over to talk to him. I got up and went over and he said, you are going to have a part in the ceremony. I asked him if it was a speaking part and he said no, no talking, you’ll be playing the procession bell and you’ll be the first one to start the procession. He explained while we walked in the procession, the procession bell gets hit first, then the drum, then the cymbal then back to the bell. We’ll be walking from the Jizo statue to the giant Buddha statue on the other side of the grounds. I told him sure, I can do that and thought, well this is cool and different. I’ve never done anything this before. As we were talking, Colleen came over and Kotoku said that I was going to play the bell. Colleen said they already had someone for that, and they went over who was doing what. Kotoku then told me that I could carry the incense and I said sure, I’d be up for that.


Everyone that “had a job” in the procession when over to the other side of the Zen Center and got the instruments. One of the people who is training there handed me the incense and then all the people at the ceremony came walking over to where we all were. The ceremony started with the ringing of the temple bell, Kotoku offering incense, and one of the monks doing a chant and clapping the cymbals 30 times at the Jizo statue. After the 30th cymbal ring, I led the entire group from the Jizo statue all the way across the grounds to the big Buddha statue. It was an honor to do this and I was grateful that they wanted me to lead the entire group in the procession. I was excited about it as I led everyone to the Buddha statue and was hoping I wasn’t walking too fast or slow. I tried to keep pace with the instruments that were playing behind me. Once I got to the big Buddha statue, I wasn’t sure what to do or where to stand. The guy in training told me to stand at the altar in front of one of the little tables with incense. Kotoku made his way up to the altar and he guided me as to what to do with the incense. I did what he told me and then he told me I could go to my spot.


That's Louie, with me listening to the Invocation

As I was walking back, Colleen was walking directly toward me with their new dog, Louie. She needed to get up to the altar with Kotoku so she handed me Louie’s leash. This is wonderful, I get to puppy sit the new dog! I haven’t met him yet, and now here I am, watching him during the ceremony. This was significant to me. It’s refreshing to know that someone trusts me enough to just be able to hand off their dog to me to take care of him. This is a community that I want to be a part of, this is what community is and I feel very accepted here.


We sat in meditation for about 15 minutes. After that, a few priests from other local temples came up to the altar and did some chanting and praying. All the chants and prayers were for all people affected by the virus. It was beautiful. As a closing, Bhante Pemaratana, the Chief Abbott of Pittsburgh Buddhist Center, did a sort of prayer meditation, I’m not exactly sure what to call it. He talked, but it was a bit like singing/chanting and I sat in lotus position with my eyes closed. I could feel all the good energy there and let it go to all the people he was speaking about as we prayed. It was a giving feeling and I was grateful that I was a part of it. After the prayer, we did an Incense Offering to the Buddha statue.


I know these photos may not look like we're 6 feet apart, but we were


This day was filled with a lot of firsts for me. I’ve never led a group in a procession before, nor have I participated in a Buddhist ceremony. But that’s really what this was all about, living in the moment, being here and now. As this day progressed, I rolled with it and did what was going on at that moment. I truly felt a sense of belonging there.


This part is probably going to sound pretty superficial, but, as always, I was struggling with what to wear to the ceremony. I knew we were going to be outside and it might be warm, it might not be. I never know what to wear to the Monday meditation either. I wanted to be comfortable because I knew we were going to be sitting for a while. But I didn’t want to wear exercise clothes because I thought that was too informal for a ceremony. Something kept telling me to wear my white capris. So I did, because I listen to that voice. I put on my white pants and a blue t-shirt. I’m really glad that I wore what I did, since I was the one leading the procession. I would have felt terrible if I were in my yoga clothes. I’m also glad that someone else was also wearing white as well. I don’t know yet if there are any colors that you should or shouldn’t wear to a Buddhist ceremony or service. Probably should have looked that up before I went. Everything was fine, and it was a beautiful afternoon.


On a safety note, even though it was a gathering of people, everyone was very safe about social distancing and wearing masks. We were all outside and everyone had a mask on the entire time. They even put Ziplock bags over the microphones for each person who spoke. Everyone stayed 6 feet apart from each other after the ceremony while we all talked to each other. It was a lovey and safe event.


I will leave you with one of the prayers from this event.


Prayer for Everyone During the COVID-19 Pandemic

May all doctors, nurses, and other hospital workers have the emotional

strength and physical stamina to meet the challenges they are facing every

day.

May all essential workers -- police, firefighters, store personnel,

delivery people, and more -- be safe from this virus as they perform their

critical services.

May everyone struggling with illness from this virus be blessed with

healing and renewed strength. May all who are touched with sickness and

death of loved ones be comforted in their anxiety and grief.

May all who are stressed financially during this time receive the

assistance and support they need.

And may we all have the strength to embrace our fears and sorrows -- and

also water seeds of joy -- in this deeply challenging and uncertain time.


Robb Kushner

True Realization of Light

Plum Village Community of Engaged Buddhism


The Zen Center

Thanks for reading this segment of my “This Damn Virus” story. Catch up on past segments here and come back next Wednesday for the next one! Sign up to receive a weekly reminder email about this blog here.

 
11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page