top of page

My initial thoughts and feelings about the coronavirus

Living through this coronavirus pandemic, or This Damn Virus as I have been calling it, has actually been a really positive experience for me. I felt like I was built for this time and space. I know that sounds crazy, but I felt comfortable in this space time. I got to be creative. I got to help people. People helped me. I felt more love and connectedness through this time than I ever have in my life. Even though we had to stay apart from each other, I still felt more connected to the people I love. J, my husband, and I played street hockey in the driveway a lot. He bought a net online from Dick’s Sporting Goods and did the curbside carry out to pick it up. We had fun once we learned how to do time lapse video. Anne, my neighbor, helped me start making masks. She gave me the pattern, money, and fabric to make them. My mom stopped by almost every week to visit, which was really nice. We have hung out with Meagan and Mia, my sister-in-law and niece more than ever. I met my stepsister, Erin, for the first time during all this. I have connected to my spirituality more than ever. I listened to what the Universe was saying, and it was saying that it is going to be ok. I got that message every single day.

I really didn’t mind quarantining. Maybe it’s because I am an only child and am used to being by myself. Maybe it’s because I’m an introvert and I’m ok with not being around people. It’s not that I don’t love my people in my soul group, I do. But I don’t feel the need to be around people all the time. It was nice to take a slower approach to life. There really wasn’t much to do, and that was ok. Well, it was ok with me. No expectations of having to get the grocery shopping done at a certain time or driving into the office for a week. We met so many new neighbors because everyone took multiple walks a day. And it was pretty warm the whole time, so we spent a lot of time outside. Out front actually, which is something we never do.

Not a whole lot changed for me during this all this. Quite frankly, I’ve been busier now than ever before. I work from home and so does J. So when everyone started working from home, I’m sure it was a big change for them, but we were both used to it. Before all this, I did a lot of activities after work like yoga, the Monday meditation and floating. I did miss them, but I had plenty of other activities to fill up my time. Mask making took up a lot as did designing coloring book pages. Adobe had Illustrator challenges throughout the quarantine, so I did a few of them. I also finished up training for and running my own personal half marathon as they cancelled all the races that I run throughout the year. As quarantine moved forward, Zoom online activities started popping up. I’ve been taking a Qigong Tai Chi class at the Zen Center every Wednesday night since it all started. And I got to do some yoga and the Monday meditation via Zoom too. Normally I wouldn’t be able to do the Tai Chi class because of running, but since Colleen does it online, I can do it. Not everything was bad because of this virus.


J and I playing hockey during quarantine. Yes, there are aliens with masks in the window.


Stay tuned for the next section of my This Damn Virus story, coming out next Wednesday.


Catch up and read my last post about the coronavirus.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page