top of page

Let it snow

All this snow we got last week reminded me of other times when it snowed a ton. First and foremost was the Pittsburgh Blizzard of '93.


It started snowing on March 12th and didn't stop until March 14th. There was a grand total of 25 inches piled up on our lawns, streets, and houses. But that wasn't the most memorable thing about this blizzard, well for me anyway.


My best friend, Jamie, came over that Friday for a sleep over. She was supposed to stay only Friday into Saturday. But then, it started snowing...and snowing....and snowing. It didn't stop and she got stranded at my house. That was fine with me though, it was fun having my best friend stay for longer than expected.


I remember us playing a lot of video games on the Nintendo. If my memory serves me correctly, we played Mickey Mousecapade and there was a board that we just couldn't get passed. It involved animated playing cards that were the enemy, and they threw something at you to try to kill you. I remember struggling with that board the entire weekend.


While I'm sure everyone in Pittsburgh wasn't too happy about all the snow, Jamie and I didn't mind it. We got to spend the entire weekend together and have fun together. It was quite a memorable blizzard.

 

We were all dreaming of white Halloween back in 1991. I remember coming home from school, getting into my costume and looking outside to see a thin sheet of white snow on the grass. It was really cold too. But that didn't stop us from going out trick-or-treating. My friends and I and my mom all bundled up in our costumes and winter jackets and went door-to-door in our neighborhood. Although I can't quite remember, we probably did our traditional Halloween thing and also went to my grandma's house and went trick-or-treating there too. Probably skipped the parade that year.

 

A more recent snowy memory is when we moved back to Pittsburgh in 2014. We were living in a small condo and had to park our cars outside. J just got a new job and he had to travel into the city, which was 26 miles away. I remember getting up early and digging his car out of the parking spot, which took forever. He headed down the snowy highway to work and got yelled at for being late when he got there. Luckily, we both work from home now and he doesn't have that awful job anymore.

 

There was a blizzard while we were living in an apartment in Ohio. It was on a Saturday, and we needed to go grocery shopping and it kept snowing and snowing. Luckily, there was a grocery store near our apartment. So we bundled up and walked 15 miles up hill in the snow just to get groceries. No...wait....that's what our parents did in Pittsburgh when they were little to get to school in the snow storms. We just walked the 0.5 miles to the store on the flat road to get food.

 

While the snow outside is pretty to look at, I would much prefer to be on a sandy beach in the warm weather, watching the sun sun over the ocean.


A couple of photos I took in the snow


Thanks for reading my blog! Catch up on my Coronavirus story here and come back next Wednesday for the next blog post! Sign up to receive a weekly reminder email about this blog here.

 
9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page