top of page

Reflections, Part 1: Running

The new year is just around the corner and I often think back to the year prior and reflect on how much has happened and how much has changed. The next few blog posts are going to focus on that.


Last year around this time, I finished up a full marathon in Philadelphia. While it was a nice course and fun weekend, it wasn’t the best or fastest marathon I’d ever run. It was a good temperature, but it was rainy and I was dealing with some allergy issues. My training session was hard, both physically and mentally and so was the run. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do for races in 2020. Usually, I ran the Pittsburgh full or half marathon in the spring and a full marathon somewhere else in the fall. I was kicking around the idea of just running all the Pittsburgh races which includes the half in the spring, the Great Race and 10 Miler in the fall. This would be a nice break to just ease back a bit and regroup.


Well, I guess this damn virus decided all this for me. No races with other people this year. It was fun to have my own personal half marathon in the spring with my family cheering me along. You can read more about that here. And it was nice to get a good night’s sleep prior to “race day”. The break from training hard was refreshing, but I’m ready to get back to it.


One of my goals for 2020 was to run the Great Race at a 7:30 per mile pace. While that didn’t happen this year, I’m hopeful that once we race again, I’ll be able to accomplish this goal. The Great Race is one of my favorites, and I missed it this year. I did do it on my own, you can read about it here, but it wasn’t quite the same.


Onward to 2021! While I haven’t quite gotten my 2021 goals set yet, I’m hoping that one of them can be to run a race with people again.

Thanks for reading this segment of my “This Damn Virus” story. Catch up on past segments here and come back next Wednesday for the next one! Sign up to receive a weekly reminder email about this blog here.

 
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page