top of page

Living the Dog’s Life

Right before Thanksgiving, we went to Florida for a quick little get-a-way. It was nice as usual, the weather was good, we ate a lot, we stopped at the rock shop, and watched the sunsets every night. The airplane rides were business as usually, just with no one in the middle seat. I like flying that way.

And as usual, we had to quarantine when we got back, so that put a damper on Thanksgiving. Our neighbor dropped off a turkey to us the weekend we got back. We didn’t wait till Thanksgiving to cook it as we didn’t have any food in the house anyway. We got groceries delivered, which was kind of fun. They didn’t have all of what we need so the shopper had to replace some items. Then they delivered our groceries to our next-door neighbor’s house. Thank goodness we like each other! I don’t think they even knew we came and got our bags from their driveway.

For the entire 4-day Thanksgiving break, we’ve walked around the neighborhood multiple times a day. We stare at screens upstairs, then we stare at screens downstairs. It really is like living the dog’s life, except she takes naps in different rooms all day and we just stare at screens. J got a new video game and that’s been keeping him entertained. I’ve been doing some educational videos about yoga and Buddhism. I even finished reading a book. J’s sister got him an Amazon Fire Stick for his birthday and that allows us to watch shows on Disney+ and Hulu. We’ve been watching the Mandalorian and Raising Hope.


My mom and I have a tradition of going Black Friday shopping every year. Didn’t happen this year, and I don’t think I was going to anyway, even if I wasn’t quarantined. I tried to do some online shopping on Black Friday, but it just wasn’t the same. I didn’t spend a dime that day! We’re not exchanging gifts with anyone this year for Christmas, so it was ok that I didn’t buy anything. All the stores had Black Friday sales all month and that kinda takes the fun out of it too. I like bargain shopping on Black Friday. What other time can you get a sweater for $5?


Quarantine is almost over, and I can’t wait to go to Target and the grocery store. I can’t believe I’m looking forward to going to the grocery store. Aaahhh, freedom!


Thanks for reading this segment of my “This Damn Virus” story. Catch up on past segments here and come back next Wednesday for the next one! Sign up to receive a weekly reminder email about this blog here.

 
15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page